RSS

Hot Air Balloon Ornaments

20 Dec

I think it was last year that I saw this post about making hot air balloons from Christmas ball ornaments.

IMG_3212 copyBasically you turn a Christmas ball upside down and suddenly it’s a hot air balloon! Mind. Blown.

If you click on the picture it will take you to the tutorial.

I thought they looked awesome and wanted to make some of my very own. From the tutorial they didn’t sound that difficult to make. But like most crafty things I see online or in books I don’t have all of the equipment that those people do. Essentially my craft supplies are whatever I can find in the dollar store. You can find some interesting things in a dollar store.

IMG_0607Needless to say my hot air balloon ornaments did not turn out nearly as nice as the ones that I saw. Mine look homemade, while hers look professional and fancy.

IMG_0602They took me a ridiculously long time to make too. But not because they are difficult or anything like that. It was because I started them in January, got frustrated with it not turning out the way I wanted and then left it until December.

IMG_0610I determined that the reason I was having such a difficult time putting these together was that I was trying to do too much with them. Once I simplified what I was trying to do, basically attach a “basket” and put some glitter on them, it all came together. Keep It Simple Stupid became my motto from that point.

So even though they did not turn out quite the way I envisioned, I still kind of like them. They’re… unique. I had fun making them anyway and that’s what counts.

IMG_0609This one is my favourite. I think it looks like a planet.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Hot Air Balloon Ornaments

  1. Joe Owens

    December 20, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    These are so neat! I love hot air balloons of all kind. I wish that one day i can take a ride in one. They will look so nice on you tree!

     
    • museumnerd

      December 21, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      Thank you 🙂 One day I’d like to go for a ride in a hot air balloon too. It’d be fun!

       

Leave a comment